Writers Studio- Amsterdam Faculty and Student Reading, Tucson Free Introductory Class & Brooklyn Book Festival

THE WRITERS STUDIO- Amsterdam Faculty and Student Reading, Tucson Free Introductory Class & Brooklyn Book Festival
“Helping writers reach their potential for more than 25 years”

>> THE AMSTERDAM BRANCH OF THE WRITERS STUDIO PRESENTS ITS 1st ANNUAL FACULTY & STUDENT READING ON SEPTEMBER 8, 2012 (6 p.m.). Kicking off the 3rd year of the Amsterdam branch, the event will feature readings by SUELI GIESLER, SARAH CARRIGER, JENNIFER GRYZENHOUT, LINN KOLBE, and Director of the Amsterdam program, NANCY MATSUNAGA. The ABC Treehouse, Voetboogstraat 11, 1012 XK Amsterdam.

>> THE TUCSON BRANCH OF THE WRITERS STUDIO IS HOSTING A FREE INTRODUCTORY CLASS ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2012 (6:30 – 8:30 pm). Eleanor Kedney, Director of Branch Studios, and Reneé Bibby and Janelle Drumwright, Writers Studio teachers, will lead the workshop and introduce our method. Learn about the elements of craft and receive a writing exercise to begin a story or a poem. A Writers Studio student will present an example of her work in response to the exercise. Beginners and advanced writers welcome. Contact Eleanor Kedney to reserve your space: eleanor@writerstudio.com or 520-743-8214.. Registration is required.

>> MEET THE NEW YORK CITY WRITERS STUDIO AT THE BROOKLYN BOOK FESTIVAL, SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 23. We will be there from 10 am until 6 pm (Booth #92). Stop by to say hello and introduce yourself. Subway 2, 3, 4, 5 to Borough Hall, R to Court Street, or A, C, F, to Jay Street/Borough Hall.

>> BE SURE TO REGISTER NOW TO RESERVE A SPACE IN THE CLASS YOU WANT. Students have been registering since the beginning of the summer, so classes are filling up. If you’re not sure which class to join, or have questions, give us a call at (212) 255-7075. Get a full preview of our Fall Schedule.

* NYC WORKSHOPS IN FICTION AND POETRY begin September 24
NYC Level I, taught by Brian McDonald, begins September 24
NYC Level I, taught by Whitney Porter, begins October 1
NYC Level I, taught by Elliot Satsky, begins October 1
NYC Level I, taught by Therese Eiben, begins October 2
NYC Level I, taught by Rebecca Gee, begins October 3
NYC Level II, taught by Peter Krass, begins October 1
NYC Level II,taught by Joel Hinman, begins October 4

>> “MY LEVEL I CLASS IS INCREDIBLE. I am amazed, not just in what has emerged in my own writing, but also in my classmates. And how much sharper all of our writing has become.”–Rebecca Cooney, NYC student.

* ONLINE WORKSHOPS IN FICTION AND POETRY begin October 1
Online Level I, taught by Michele Herman, begins October 1
Online Level I, taught by Yetsuh Frank, begins October 1
Online Level I, taught by Rachael Nevins, begins October 2
Online Level I, taught by Whitney Porter, begins October 4
Online Level I, taught by Anamyn Turowski, begins October 10
Online Level II, taught by Liz Kingsley, begins October 4
Online Level II, taught by Joel Hinman, begins October 9

>> “I WOULD RECOMMEND THE WRITERS STUDIO ONLINE CLASSES TO ANYONE WHO IS SERIOUS ABOUT WRITING AS A VOCATION. It’s the perfect place to learn craft, where you as a writer are supported and nurtured—like an old-fashioned apprenticeship with a modern-day twist.” –Miriam Santana quoted in Poets & Writers (November/December 2002) about The Writers Studio online classes.

* SAN FRANCISCO WORKSHOPS IN FICTION AND POETRY begin September 25
San Francisco Workshops Financial District, taught by Lorraine Babb, begins September 25
San Francisco Workshops Rockridge, taught by Gail Ford, begins September 26

>> “I HAD AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE IN MY LEVEL I CLASS….The method itself is brilliant and has noticeably influenced my writing (as well as helped me “unblock” myself). I definitely plan on taking another class.” — Sarah Berkley, San Francisco Level I student

* TUCSON WORKSHOPS IN FICTION AND POETRY begin September 25
The Tucson Workshops[1], taught by Janelle Drumwright, begins September 25
The Tucson Workshops[1], taught by Renee Bibby, begins September 27

>> “I WANTED TO THANK YOU FOR ONE OF THE MOST CONSTRUCTIVE, ENCOURAGING, AND SUPPORTIVE CLASSES. I have yet to experience in my writing world. I learned so much from the critiques, not only of my own work but also from reading everyone’s pieces and listening to you explore with each of us how we might move forward and make breakthroughs, however small, in our writing.” — Nancy Philipp, Tucson Workshops, Level I student

* AMSTERDAM WORKSHOPS IN FICTION AND POETRY begin September 19
The Amsterdam Workshops, taught by Linn Kolbe, begins September 17
The Amsterdam Workshops, taught by Sarah Carriger, begins September 19

* CRAFT CLASS begins October 2

http://www.writerstudio.com / 212-255-7075 / TWITTER / FACEBOOK / question@writerstudio.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Workshops & Conferences

Leave a Reply

